K Pop band SEVENTEEN: Everything you need to know

By Vaibhavi Dahake

21 May 2021

SEVENTEEN is a 13-member male K-pop group formed by Pledis Entertainment in 2015.

The group consists of 13 members: S.Coups, Jeonghan, Joshua, Jun, Hoshi, Wonwoo, Woozi, DK, Mingyu, The8, Seungkwan, Vernon, and Dino.

The 13 members are divided into 3 subunits, each with an area of specialization: ’Hip Hop Unit’, ‘Vocal Unit’, ’Performance Unit’.

SEVENTEEN made an impact when debuted in the music industry for having the longest-running album (it stayed for 11 weeks!) on the Billboard World Albums chart during that year.

Seventeen is considered a "self-producing" idol group, with the members being actively involved in the songwriting, choreographing, and other aspects of their music and performances.

SEVENTEEN’s songs range from club party beats, mesmerizing ballads, anime-like tracks, and chill singles. S.Coups leads SEVENTEEN as a group as well as the hiphop unit.

Their official fan club is named Carat after their first album "17 CARAT" — fans are the carats that help SEVENTEEN's diamonds shine.

They were the only Korean idol group to enter Billboard's "21 Under 21 Hottest Young Stars" in 2015. Their debut track "Adore U" was written and produced by Woozi, leader of the vocal subunit

On October 28, 2020, Seventeen was awarded the 'Prime Minister's Commendation' from the Prime Minister of South Korea for their contribution to the development of South Korea's contemporary pop culture and arts.

For more details and News