April 7, 2021

By Vaibhavi Dahake


Most Successful Captains In IPL History

Mumbai Live

In a tournament like IPL, the role of captain is of utmost importance given that the game can change very quickly. However, it's not an easy job to lead. Here are the most successful Captions in IPL history


1. Rohit Sharma 60.34

With 5 IPL trophies in 8 years as captain, Rohit Sharma is definitely the best captain in tournament history.


He has won more than 60 percent of the match, he has captained in. In total, He has led the team in 116 IPL games with 70 of them resulting in a win.


2. Steve Smith 59.52

Smith had done a brilliant job with the Pune team when he was given captaincy replacing MS Dhoni in 2017. He also led the Rajasthan Royals team for multiple seasons.


In total, Steve Smith won 25 matches out of 42 he captained, making him the second most successful IPL captain. 


Sachin was quite successful leading the Mumbai Indians team. Under him, MI reached the finals in the2010 IPL where they were defeated by CSK in the last.

3. Sachin Tendulkar  58.82


Sachin was captain for a total of 51 matches and won 30 of these matches with a win percentage of 58.82.


M. S. Dhoni won 3 IPL trophies for CSK under his captaincy in the year 2010, 2011, and 2018.

4. MS Dhoni 58.82


In total, Dhoni has captained 188 matches and has won 110 of them which takes his winning percentage to 58.82.


Cameron White featured for RCB, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.. He captained for Deccan chargers and SRH.

5. Cameron White – 58.33


. In the 12 matches White captained, 7 were won by the team making his success percentage 58.33 in the tournament.

For more details and News