Vegetarian? 

Think  Again!

HEALTHLINE

By Anandi Yalavarthi

You need to avoid non-veg to be a vegetarian. Sounds easy enough right?

INDIATVNEWS

NO!  Because there are foods that look vegetarian, but are not.  Some of them contain meat-derived ingredients.

THECONVERSATION

Parmesan Cheese

Contains rennet, an enzyme that’s found in the lining of a goat or calf’s stomach

INDIAMART

Marshmallows

Made from sugar and gelatin - a thickening and gelling agent made from skin, bones and hooves of animals.

VERYWELLFIT

White Sugar

The process of bleaching of white sugar involves running the sugar through bone char

DELIGHTEDCOOKING

It’s not just pine nuts, basil and olive oil.  It also has parmesan cheese made from rennet.

Pesto Sauce

SIMPLYRECIPES

Cheesecakes

Most cheesecakes have gelatin which is a setting agent. If not gelatin, it could even be eggs.

CRUNCHYCREAMYSWEET

This international company uses rennet to produce whey for the chocolate bar.

AMAZON

Gel cap Medicines

Capsules with soft shells are actually made using gelatin or plant polysaccharides so it is necessary to check the labels carefully while purchasing

iSTOCK

Soft Drinks

Some soft drinks use gelatin-derived substances as stabilizers. Red coloured drinks possibly have colouring cochineal from insects.

WIKIPEDIA

Hard coated Candy

The hard exterior is made from shellac which is made from a resin that is secreted from the rear end of female lac bug.

QUENCH

Non-vegetarian is not limited to dishes.  From cheese to sweets, you need to check the labels to be sure.

HEALTH.CLEVELANDCLINIC

For more details and News